Sean Casey, former Reds first baseman, appears on Baseball Hall of Fame ballot

CINCINNATI – Former Reds first baseman Sean Casey appears on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot for the first time this year.

It’s an honor for Casey, who was elected to the Reds Hall of Fame in 2012, but he'll never get enough votes to get into Cooperstown. Players must be named on 75 percent of ballots cast by baseball writers to earn election.

No one was elected last year.

A Cincinnati fan favorite who won the nickname “The Mayor,” Casey played eight seasons for the Reds (1998-2005) and hit .305 with a .463 on-base percentage. He also played for the Indians, Tigers and Red Sox in his 11+ major-league seasons and had a .302 career batting average.

RELATED: See Casey’s career stats at and his Reds bio on the Reds Hall of Fame website .

RELATED: Dave Concepcion, Dave Parker on Expansion Era ballot.

The 19 first-year candidates for Cooperstown include two sure-fire, first-ballot Hall of Famers, pitchers Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine. The Braves teammates dominated the National League through the 1990s and into the 21st century.

Maddux won four consecutive NL Cy Young Awards (1992-95) and a record 18 Gold Glove Awards. He had a 355-227 record, a 3.16 ERA and 3,371 strikeouts over 23 seasons.

Glavine, a two-time NL Cy Young Award winner and 10-time All-Star, was 305-203 with a 3.54 ERA over 22 seasons.

Reliever Eric Gagne, first baseman-designated hitter Frank Thomas and second baseman Jeff Kent also appear for the first time. Other newcomers include
 Moises Alou, Armando Benitez, Ray Durham, Jacque Jones, Todd Jones, Paul Lo Duca, Mike Mussina, Hideo Nomo, Kenny Rogers, Richie Sexson, J.T. Snow and Mike Timlin.

There are 17 holdovers from the 2013 voting including Craig Biggio, who had 68.2 percent of the vote, Jack Morris (67.7 percent), Jeff Bagwell (59.6),  Mike Piazza (57.8) and Tim Raines (52.2).

Other returnees are Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Edgar Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Rafael Palmeiro, Curt Schilling, Sammy Sosa, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell and Larry Walker.

Players may remain on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive five percent of the vote in any year. This is the final year of eligibility for Morris.

Writers must return ballots by a Dec. 31 postmark. Results will be announced at 2 p.m. EST on Jan. 8, 2014

Print this article Back to Top