Sean Kilpatrick: University of Cincinnati senior guard named first-team AP All-America

CINCINNATI – Sean Kilpatrick got one of college basketball biggest honors Monday when he was named first-team Associated Press All-America.

The University of Cincinnati guard was chosen along with Creighton's Doug McDermott, Louisville's Russ Smith, Connecticut's Shabazz Napier and Duke's Jabari Parker. All are seniors except Parker, a freshman.

Kilpatrick, Cincinnati's sixth first-team AP All-America, averaged 20.7 points, 4.4 rebounds and 2.6 assists. Kilpatrick joined Oscar Robertson as the only UC players to score 2,000 points.

"When you have to mention such a Hall of Fame guy like Oscar Robertson and what he's done at the university, now you have to mention my name as well." he said. "I appreciate it a lot."

RELATED: Kilpatrick's career highlights

Other UC players to earn the first-team AP honor include Robertson (three times from 1958-60), Ron Bonham (1963), Danny Fortson (1997), Kenyon Martin (2000) and Steve Logan (2002).

"SK earned this honor with hard work and dedication to his team and our university," UC coach Mick Cronin said. "We are extremely excited for him and very proud as well."

Kilpatrick also received first-team All-America honors from USA Today, Sports Illustrated, Sporting News, Bleacher Report and He was a second-team choice of the National Association of Basketball Coaches and the United States Basketball Writers Association.

The native of Yonkers, N.Y., helped guide Cincinnati to a 27-7 record, the school's first regular-season conference title since 2004 and its fourth consecutive NCAA tournament appearance.

The 65 voters who selected the weekly AP Top 25 picked the All-America team on Selection Sunday.

McDermott was the only unanimous choice. Parker was second with 55 votes, followed by Smith (54), Kilpatrick and Napier (both 37).

Kilpatrick, Napier and Smith played in the American Athletic Conference. It's the first time one conference had three players picked since the Atlantic Coast Conference in 2001-02 with Duke's Shane Battier and Jason Williams and North Carolina's Joseph Forte.

McDermott, who led the nation in scoring at 26.9 points a game,  is the first three-time choice in 29 years and the 11th player overall. Others include Robertson, Lew Alcindor, Pete Maravich and Bill Walton. The last three-time All-Americas were Patrick Ewing of Georgetown and Wayman Tisdale of Oklahoma from 1982-85.

"Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine being with names of that caliber," McDermott said. "Truly an honor to be an All-American three straight years. It's hard to wrap my mind around being in the company of those guys."

Parker was one of the heralded freshmen this season, and he was the one who crashed the seniors' All-America party. The 6-8 native of Chicago averaged 19.3 points and 8.8 rebounds, taking over the scoring load for the Blue Devils down the stretch of the season.

Smith followed a national championship season with Louisville by averaging 18.3 points, 3.4 rebounds, 4.7 assists and 2.1 steals while shooting 40.5 percent from 3-point range.  

Napier led Connecticut in scoring (17.4), rebounds (5.9) and assists (4.9) and it was his buzzer-beating jumper that gave the Huskies the win over Florida on Dec. 2, the Gators' last loss. Napier was the leader of a team that managed to reach the Final Four after being picked as a No. 7 seed.

Nick Johnson of Arizona was the leading vote-getter on the second team and was joined by freshman Andrew Wiggins of Kansas, Nik Stauskas of Michigan, Melvin Ejim of Iowa State and T.J. Warren of North Carolina State.

Print this article Back to Top